Focus (2min read)

Though I’m not a gambling girl, I do enjoy watching a horse race now and then. Those strong beasts can not wait to get out of the gates, huffing and puffing, trying to kick the wood door down just to get to the finish line. I love that passion.

It’s interesting that the horses wear blinders on the side of their head to block their peripheral vision. The blinders help the horses focus on the finish line. Does that sound like something you need?

We all have seasons in our lives when we get distracted by all the circumstances and issues going on, both in and around us. It’s so easy to become overwhelmed and discouraged. When I get to that point, I can sense my peace leaving me. I start to veer into the other lane, away from my peace. All of a sudden, the peace is gone. What “blinders” can help me get back on the track to my peace? The Word of God can.

Isaiah 26:3
You will keep in perfect peace, whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.

I’m so relieved that God gives us perfect peace, flawless, thorough, complete peace. There is no other relief from the things that concern us.

The only way to get that perfect peace is to focus on Him. When we meditate or purposefully think about Jesus, what He did on the cross for our Eternal destiny, all His promises for our success today and all the victories He gave us yesterday – that can help us look toward the finish line.

When I feel distracted by my circumstances and I’m sensing God’s peace leaving me, I simply whisper the name of Jesus. I can sense the peace returning. I thank Him for what He’s already done for me at the cross. Here comes more peace. I agree with His promises for me today. I choose to trust Him with my future. Oh yes, the return of the perfect peace I so desperately need.

How about you, what do you do to get back or keep God’s perfect peace? I’d love to hear from you.

Will you please pray with me?

Jesus, thank you that you are the prince of peace. Thank you that you have a race for me to run and You are my prize, You are my trophy. Help me keep my mind on you and be quick to turn to you for my perfect peace. Thank you that I can trust you. In Jesus Name. Amen.

2 Responses

  1. Last year was a tough year for my husband and I. A lot of transition, and our roof needed to be replace, our air conditioner broke, our oven broke our cars (both) broke, we took in a 20 yr old and I already have 4 kids. There was a lot of chaos and my world seemed to be turned upside down. If I looked at everything that was happening around me I would panic. After our water heater exploded all I could do was laugh. Not that it was funny because it leaked through our ceiling, but because I knew God would take care of it. So, I suppose laughter helps me maintain my peace. Sometimes that’s all I can do, hey , it it could be worse.

  2. I run to get peace. Not run from the issue, but literally go out on the trail and run. My best times with my Savior are on the trail.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers